Year 7 Book Group – Writing about books we read.

Now Is The Time For Running by Michael Williams

What is your character like physically?
Deo is black and has an afro. He is aged 14 years and wears a t-shirt, shorts and trainers.
What character traits has your character got?
He is gregarious, sporty, intelligent, reassuring and friendly.
Which other characters are important to them and why?
Innocent is important to Deo because he is his older brother, but he unfortunately died. He was always there for Deo before he died.
How does the character develop?
Deo develops by growing up, getting braver and starting to persevere.
Is the character believable?
Deo is believable because he reacts to things with human nature.

Leon Yr 7

This book made me think about how poor people’s lives are in other countries.
This book made me feel very sorry for people in other countries and a bit annoyed that no one does anything.
This book made me wish that stuff like this wasn’t happening in other countries.
This book made me realize that in some countries it’s not worth living.

Max Yr 7

Mister Creecher by Chris Priestley

This book made me think about what it must feel like to have to steal to survive and how lonely “Creecher” would be.This book made me feel not upset but it made me feel like I had a new view on the world because I know this kind of thing still happens today (i.e. Billy having to steal).
This book made me wish that nobody had to live like Billy or Creecher because no one should have to live like that.
This book made me realize that the author wanted people to realize that people have to live like Billy or Creecher today.
This book made me want to help people who are treated like they’re monsters or have to steal by maybe donating money to charities.

Suzy Yr 7

Goblins by Philip Reeve

This book made me think about what it is like to be in a place where you are different from the others.
This book made me feel it was a hilarious story.
This book made me wish that Skarper could be like all the rest because he wouldn’t have any troubles.
This book made me realize that if you are different, embrace it and find somewhere you belong.
This book made me want to be nice to those that are different.

Kyle Yr 7

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

This book made me think about how hard it must be to be autistic and not being able to see things the way other people can.
This book made me feel a bit sad at what she must be going through, missing Devon, however it was funny in some parts.
This book made me wish that nobody was autistic or special needs.
This book made me realize that there is nothing wrong with autistic people; they just act slightly strange.
This book made me decide to be nicer to autistic people because I never really understood them.

Georgia Yr 7

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Group, Review

Leave a Reply

